- DavWebSoft Inc - http://www.davwebsoftinc.com
- SBC Web Solutions - http://www.sbcwebsolutions.com
- Stewart’s Precision Web Design - http://www.stepredes.com
- Eadens Enterprises - http://www.eadensenterprises.com, http://www.eadens.net
- Fleming Software LLC - http://www.flemingllc.com
- Global WebLine LLC - http://www.globalwebline.com
- Studio A Design - http://www.studio-a-design.com
- Prosoftware Inc. - http://www.prosoftwareincorp.com, http://www.prosoftwareink.com
- Luministic Technologies - http://www.luministech.com
- Kazland Software Corp. - http://www.kazlansoftware.net
- Bailey Consulting Group LLC - http://www.platypustemplates.com
- International Web Design - http://www.international-wd.com
- GToolboxes Technology INC. - http://www.gtoolboxes.com
- Tanya Web Design - http://www.tanyawebdesign.com
- Andersoft Inc. - http://www.andersoftinc.com
- Panaginip Salohin Corp. - http://www.panaginipsalohin.com, http://www.pansal.com
- Web Pages Made Easy LLC - http://www.webpagesmadeeasyllc.com
- E Software Tech Inc. - http://www.esoftwaretech.com, http://www.e-zsoft.com
- Webtemp Solutions, Inc. - http://www.webtempsolutions.com
- Resourcepdc Inc. - http://www.resourcepdc.com
- Platypus Templates - http://platypustemplates.com
- WP-A-Soft - http://wp-active-news.com
I appreciate all of nice e-mails I've received from people across the country, thanking me for posting this
page. Trying to investigate these criminals and responding to your e-mails and phone calls has become way too
exhausting for someone who has nothing to do with this in the first place, except sharing the first two words of
the company name. No offense, and I love you all, but please do not contact me, thank me, phone or e-mail me
regarding this issue any further. Please do not accuse me of taking your money, nor have your credit card, banks,
or credit unions phone me regarding this matter, as I will not return calls, e-mails, or any correspondence.
Imagine getting a "wrong number" phone call, and keep getting the same wrong number call over and over
again. That's sort of what this idiot has done to me, and other North Wind's around the country.
I'm glad you've discovered this page and are taking it upon yourself to file a dispute and get your money
refunded! I will, however, leave this page up for the Internet Community in hopes it will help with anyone else's
investigation...
******************************************************************************
We're NOT NORTHWIND WEB SERVICES!
There are probably dozens, if not hundreds of businesses in the United States with "North Wind" or "NorthWind"
as it's name. Unfortunately, there is someone fraudulently deducting $9.95 out of people's checking accounts
and/or credit cards using the name "NORTHWIND WEB SERVICES". We are not the "NORTHWIND WEB SERVICES",
nor is that probably a legitimate company, but merely a name the crooks have chosen to put on your bank and/or
credit card statements.
We're proud of the fact that our customers can easily find us on the web when Googling "North Wind Computer",
but unfortunately, when people are trying to track down these thieves, our web site is the first thing that comes up,
and as a result, people are e-mailing and/or phoning us, demanding their money back. Once again, we're not
the "NORTHWIND WEB SERVICES" bandits!
If you have received such a charge, please inform your bank or credit card immediately, as they can most likely
file a dispute on your behalf, and hopefully deposit the funds back in your account.
--- Update 6/27/05 ---
Thank you to Carrie of
Washington for her vigilance! We think we know what's
going on!
We appear to see two see two major thefts with "Northwind
Web Services". Their web site, until it gets closed
down (hopefully soon), can be seen here:
http://www.northwind-web.com ... Here's my take on the
story...
Templatemonster.com makes some fantastic templates for
websites... What's a website template? Well, creating
a website with all of its nifty graphics, curved boxes, etc.,
takes a lot of work. Work many of us don't have the
expertise, nor time to invest to make our websites look flashy!
Templatemonster.com, I'm assuming has hired or
worked with talented individuals who have created "templates".
You buy the template, and modify it to suit your
website... A great deal for around $50 or so!
Somehow, one or more individuals have stolen these templates,
even using TM's templates to create their own
website and storefront. Worse of all, they're reselling
these templates for guess how much -- $9.95! One of the
many names they're using is "NORTHWIND WEB SERVICES".
Remember, unauthorized charges of less than $10
are easily credited to your account, and banks won't
investigate--convenient, huh? That's my take on the theft of
the templates at least, now for the second part -- theft of your
credit card number!
Since your credit card statements read "NORTHWIND WEB SERVICES",
it appears that one of two things
happened...
A) Your credit card number has been stolen, and one of things the person
used it for was
to buy a template at "NORTHWIND WEB SERVICES". That "bad
guy", probably bought a template and is now
running his own "website".
B) The other possibility is that NORTHWIND WEB SERVICES are the ones who
got your
credit card number in the first place and this fake store
selling templates is just a front for them getting $9.95
out of your bank accounts.
They may be using the name "NorthWind" today, who knows what, tomorrow...
A few other names that might
be the same person, or have been used for the same purpose,
appear to be:
(taken from
http://www.wiphey.com/?p=13&cp=all)
This is only speculation, but we feel we've hit the nail on the
head... The only mystery is how did people get
your credit card number in the first place? Of the many people who have contacted us, there is no common bond...
We can only assume they guessed your number or picked it up by some other means...
Update June 28, 2005
If you'd like to see what their bogus website looked like before
it was shutdown, we saved snapshots, click
here.
+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
Update July 9, 2005 +-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-
Thanks to our Utah Vigilante who called us this morning!
The "address" and phone number (one of many, perhaps) this "guy" is using is:
NorthWind Web Services
6720 Kimmel Rd
Clayton, OH 45315-9723
Phone 330-259-7315
A call to this number went right into a voice mail stating
"You've reached the number for Northwind Web Services. We have
scammed you out of $9.95 from your credit card. The
only way to get your money back is to dispute the charges with
your credit card company."
You can listen to a copy of the message
here.
Whether or not that is the real criminal leaving an arrogant
message, or someone who
actually purchased that phone number to help inform the credit
cards companies and
victims remains to be seen. Doesn't it bother you that
your voice doesn't appear to be
heard because nobody wants to investigate a $9.95 charge? (how
convenient, huh?)
There is action you can take! Since this person is using
an Ohio address and phone
number, you can contact the Attorney General's Office Ohio and
file a complaint!
Unfortunately, only two have complained so far, but if everyone
steps up, hopefully
further action can be taken!
Visit their website at:
http://www2.ag.state.oh.us/sections/consumer/ccapsplus/welcome.asp
They give you 3 options, of a phone number, an online form you
can fill out, or a form
you can print out, and I assume, mail in.
Thanks again for this information, and good luck to you all!
+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-



